Port Blair, Mar 02: “Andaman & Nicobar Police team clinched the final match of “State Open ARPAN Rolling Cup Volley Ball Championship – 2015” thus lifting the cup for the third consecutive time beating YFC Haddo in the final match played on 28/2/15 at Forest Ground, Tushnabad. In an electrifying match which went upto the fifth set, YFC Haddo won two sets and A&N Police won three sets. Shri. Shashi of YFC Haddo was adjudged the man of the match and Shri. Yashwant of A&N Police won the man of the series award.

Addressing the huge gathering who were in attendance from far flung areas to witness the match, Ms. Mariyam Bibi, Adhyaksha, ZP SA, the chief guest on the occasion, lauded the efforts of ARPAN in successfully organizing such a big event in the rural area and promised to extend all possible assistance for the future events. She also asked the organizing committee to come out with more sports activities in the rural areas to groom new talents in various other sporting events. Smti. Rashmi Krishnan, IAS, Secretary Industries & CEO ZP SA graced the occasion as guest of honour.

Earlier the Chairman, ARPAN Shri. N M Bashir in his welcome address explained in details about the various activities that the association is planning to undertake in the coming years. He also expressed his pleasure in informing the gathering that teams from as far as Nancowry Group participated in the tournament. He informed that his association is committed to promote sports, art and culture in the rural area among other activities of the organization. He thanked Shri. Abdul Gafoor, Shri. Sajid Rehman, Shri. Mohd Rafiq and other members of the organizing committee for their selfless service rendered to make the event a super success.

Shri. Mohd Safiq, Pramukh, Shri. Sajan T Oomen, EE ZP SA, Shri. Mohan Halder, Pradhan GPTB, Shri. Aziz, Pradhan, GPSG, Smti. Rasheeda, Pradhan, GPHT, Shri. Laxmi Narayan, Up Pramukh, Shri. Shaji Joseph, HoD (Sports) JNRM, Mrs. Morma Bharti, Asst. Director (Sports) DBRAIT, Shri. Rafeeque, SHO PS Ograbraj, Shri. K P Aboobacker, Retd. Ranger, Shri. VK Sayed Alvi, Veteran Player, Shri. N Koya, Veteral Player, and Shri. N A Kader, Veteran Player were the other Special invitees on the occasion.

The event was sponsored by Shri. Sajan T Oomen EE ZP, Shri. Mujeeb Rehman TMR Constructions Mathura, Shri. G Bhasker President ACC, Lakshi Jwellery Tushnabad, Shri. Mohd Safiq, Pramukh, Shri. Subeer Chander, MD Priya Indane and Shri. A Samsuddin, Director ANCOFED.

News Link : http://www.andamansheekha.com/2015/03/02/an-police-lifts-arpan-rolling-cup-3rd-time/