Superintendent of Police :
Shri Rajeev Kumar, IPS
Contact : 03193-265223
SDPO Carnicobar :
Shri Jai Kishan, DySP
Contact : 03193-265966
SDPO Campbell Bay :
Dr Anand Dabhi, DySP 
Contact : 03193-264154


    The Nicobar Police District came in existence in the year 1991. In the year 1991, General Police District of Andaman & Nicobar Islands was separated into Andaman Police District and Nicobar Police District. But for policing, for all other purposes, a separate district with headquarter at Car Nicobar was created as early as in 1974.

Till the creation of separate Police District, there was one Dy.SP at Car Nicobar.

Police Stations 

There are five police stations in Nicobar District

    • PS Car Nicobar
    • PS Nancowry
    • PS Katchal
    • PS Teressa
    • PS C/Bay.

Besides five Police Stations in the district, there are four Look Out Posts at 

    • Chowra
    • Macachua
    • Tillangchong
    • Afra Bay.

Out Post

    • Gandhi Nagar

SDPO Carnicobar supervises the functioning of

    • PS Carnicobar
    • PS Nancowry
    • PS Katchal
    • PS Teressa 
    • LOP Tillanchong. 

SDPO Campbell bay supervises the functioning of 

    • PS Campbell bay
    • OP Gandhi Nagar 
    • LOP Afrabay 
    • LOP Makachua

    In general, the crime rate is very low with just about 100 cases registered annually out of which only 24 are the IPC cases and the rest are cases relating to Local and Special Laws. Majority of cases related to the violation of excise regulation and PAT. The District is peaceful from the law & order point of view.

     Nicobar group of Islands consists of 22 Islands out of which 10 are uninhabited. Car Nicobar Island lies at the Northern limit and Great Nicobar is the Southernmost. The distance from Car Nicobar to Great Nicobar is 278 Km. The district has a population of 36,189 and the total land area is 1841 Sq. Kms. The distance from Port Blair to Car Nicobar is 156 Nautical miles (281 Km approx.). Car Nicobar is the district headquarter. This Island has an area of about 100 Sq .Kms and the average height is 12 mtrs above sea level. The Islands are isolated and exposed to open sea. In almost all the inhabited Islands, Nicobaries are the predominant community (Tribes) except for Great Nicobar (C/Bay) where the non-tribals are the majority.

Tribal Reserve Area

    All the Islands have been declared Tribal Reserve Area under Andaman and Nicobar Islands (Protection of Aboriginal Tribes) Regulation, 1956 with the exception of the eastern coast of Great Nicobar, comprising 7 villages, which is a non-reserve area, where 330 Ex/Servicemen families were settled under Accelerated development Programme of Ministry of Labour and Rehabilitation in 1969-72. According to the Regulation, no non-tribal is permitted to carry on any business or acquire land in tribal reserve without permission of Lt. Governor.

    The violation of Andaman & Nicobar (Protection of Aboriginal Tribes) Regulation, is cognizable vide Sec. 9 and subsequent notification No. AN/PATR/9(1)/6 dated 6th May 1957. These offences form one of the major Crime in the Nicobar District.

Contact details of senior officers (Click here)